Philippine Orthopedic Center

Standard

I had my medical check up last August 26,2011. The doctor called me up to inform me that I have scoliosis and asked me if I am aware of it, I said no. I was never aware of it because I have never been hospitalized or undergone any major medical check up or x-ray examination. The doctor advised me to visit the Philippine Orthopedic Center which specializes musculoskeletal disorder and related conditions.

Philippine Orthopedic Center (POC) is located at Maria Clara Cor. Banawe St., Santa Mesa Heights, Quezon City. If you’re going there from the south/Alabang, I suggest you take the train (PNR) and get off at Espana (espanya) station, from there, take a jeep going to Banawe Ave./Project 8/Project 6 and tell the driver to drop you off at Banawe Ave. Then take the MMDA overpass to cross the other street (landmark: Mcdo) From there, take a jeep going to retiro/e.rodriguez and just inform the driver to drop you off at the Orthopedic Center.

POC offers free medical check ups and other services. Membership require patients to pay 30pesos to have a blue card which contains your personal information and the designated/assigned room and doctor for you depending on your illness. The queuing  in registering new members are usually long so you have to be early to avoid long hours of waiting.

I was assigned in room 2 which handles spine problems. The doctor asked me several questions about my scoliosis and asked what is the degree of curve in my spine but since I don’t have the x-ray result with me and I still don’t know the degree of my curve, he gave me a slip to take an x-ray examination and bring back the result to him. The x-ray is not free, I paid 800 pesos for it which is actually cheaper than the usual considering that I had two x-rays (Front and Side). I had to wait more than 4 hours just to have an x-ray examination because of the long lines and emergency cases. The result is that I have a 24 degrees curve which is a mild case of scoliosis and since I’ve reached adult age, there is just a small chance of  increase curvature of the spine.

The doctors there are really professional and they will treat you accordingly so no need to be afraid. I just want to share with you guys my experience in Philippine Orthopedic Center.. :)

7 responses »

    • may I know what is the name of the doctor kasi ung mommy ko my problem din s spine para sa kanya na lang kami magpacheck up

  1. VIP ang pgtulong ng mga doctors and staffs, lalo n sina dra. Azurin at dra. Dacanay, malaki ang naitutulong ng hospital nyo s mga mahhrap n katulad nmin, sna wag ng mging private ang POH.

  2. Hindi lahat nice ang staff s phil orthopedic center..yung iba dun tinatan0ng m0 ng maay0s pabalang at paalaska sumagot parang mga hindi propesyunal lalo na ung nurse na nakaassign sa room 8

  3. Itong araw lang nagfollow up nanay ko jan sa poc tinuro naman sa rehab eh pilay nanay ko nakasaklay tama ba namang sabihan ang nanay ko ng ang saklay hindi pang display kn0wing na sila ang nakakaalam kung pan0 ang tamang pag gamit ng saklay.in pain na nga pasyente sesermonan nyo pa.tama kaya na tinawag pa kayong propesyunal?bakit kadalasan s mga govt employee kala mo lahat ng kaharap mga hampas lupa mga walang pinag aralan kung mkapagsalita at mkipag usap sa tao parang hindi mga propesyunal..

Leave a Reply

