You ask me how much I Love You

Standard

By Benito F. Reyes

You ask me how much I love you,
Ah, lovely inquisitive lips!
You would want to fathom the ocean
And scale the infinite blue above us.

Shall I count the sands on the seashore,
Or pick the numberless stars of heaven
Like some sweet woodland blossoms?

Ask the bold eagle of the air
If he could soar the ends of the distance,
Or the worm of the ground if it could crawl
Down to the very core of the earth.

And you ask me how much I love you,
Ah lovely inquisitive lips!
You would want to fathom the ocean
And scale the infinitive blue above us.

Read! read the answer in my eyes
And in the quiverless muteness of my lips.
For there are things that are voiceless
And would be told only in the silence!

 

*I love this poem. Very deep.🙂

3 responses »

  1. You ask me how much I love you,
    Ah, lovely inquisitive lips!
    You would want to fathom the ocean
    And scale the infinite blue above us.

    Shall I count the sands on the seashore,
    Or pick the numberless stars of heaven
    Like some sweet woodland blossoms?

    Ask the bold eagle of the air
    If he could soar the ends of the distance,
    Or the worm of the ground if it could crawl
    Down to the very core of the earth.

    And you ask me how much I love you,
    Ah lovely inquisitive lips!
    You would want to fathom the ocean
    And scale the infinitive blue above us.

    Read! read the answer in my eyes
    And in the quiverless muteness of my lips.
    For there are things that are voiceless
    And would be told only in the silence!

    _very nice poem..🙂 love it! :*

    • it’s like a man that expressing his love. the query in our mind, were all answered, because God answered all those. it’s like we are asking how much God loves us, it’s like He answered, I love you so much, like this ( as He stretched His arms on the cross, and died). on the last stanza, it all depicts our prayer. we talk with Him, or should I say, we converse with Him through prayer.

Leave a Reply

