Category Archives: bad news

Vote for the New 7 Wonders of Nature


Let’s continue to vote for the country’s top bets to the new seven wonders of the world online contest.

As of the latest count, the Tubbataha reef ranks ninth, the Chocolate Hills is now tenth, the Puerto Princesa Subterranean National Park is at 11th and Mayon Volcano dropped to 19th place.

The latest online trend reveals, our best bets are continually dropping from the top 20 list.

“We have the most number of destinations in the top 20 list, which is dominated by Asian and South American countries. But we are continually dropping,” The Department of Tourism pointed out.

Bohol's Chocolate Hills
Bohol’s Chocolate Hills

The DOT is now renewing its call to the general public to continue voting for the country’s nominees.

The rankings are updated twice daily on

Voters have until Dec. 31 to log in their nominations at and the top 21 finalists at the end of the first round will be announced in January 2009.

A second year-long competition will then be held to determine the top seven contenders to be officially declared the new “Seven Wonders of Nature” by the year 2010.

Puerto Princesa Subterranean National Park
Puerto Princesa Subterranean National Park

The DOT said that this search would not only promote the country’s destinations to foreign tourists but also encourage every Filipino in advocating the conservation of our ecological treasures.

Since its inception on July 7, 2007, The online balloting showed Tubbataha Reef and Chocolate Hills soared to as high as 2nd and 3rd place.

The Puerto Princesa Subterranean National Park peaked at 5th place, while the Mayon Volcano topped 9th in the overall tally.

But the rankings are starting to show a steady decline. Let’s continue to support our very own and spread the word to friends and relatives to not stop voting.

Got this from the and I really feel sad about it.
We were on the top five last june and now we’re hardly in the top ten.
I think we Filipinos should act now. Lets support our country to be in the New 7 Wonders of Nature.